Return to Search Form
Kia 0336
Kia 0336

Labrador Retriever / Mountain Cur / Mixed (medium coat) :: Female :: Senior

Pet ID #:0336
Location:Sterling, VA

Additional Info:
  • Good with Dogs
  • Good with Children
  • House trained

  • Organization Contact Info:
    Shenandoah Shepherd Rescue Inc
    P.O. Box 764
    Stephens City, VA 22655

    I am a 68lb senior gal given up to Shenandoah Rescue to live out the rest of my years in a comfy home with a caring family. Until I find my furever home, I am hanging out with my foster crew and having a great time with all the humans and other pups in the house. 

    Some of my favorite things are back/belly/ear scratches and cuddling with my humans. I also like taking a bath and will step in and out willingly. I usually tell you when I need to go do my outside business and I'll also ask for those scratches with a little howl. I have a healthy appetite and love treats.

    I haven't really met any cats yet so I don't know if I like them or not, but because I'm kinda a chill gal, I'm sure a dog savvy cat would dig me. Although I'm a chill kinda gal, I am still protective of my humans. It's the lab in me.

    I don't really like crates too much, but I really don't need one anyway. If I have to stay in one area of the house, my foster family puts up a gate so I can have the run of the room. What I really like is spending time on the couch just hanging out if you'll help be get up there with a boost. But make no mistake, I like to be around my humans most of all so I'll probably follow you when you move from room to room. I also like other dogs who are chill like me. I'm not a fan of the young ones all up in my face. So if that happens, I just go to another room where it's quiet and SMH at them youngins.

    Speaking of the house, I do have problems getting up the steps because my hind parts are weak from arthritis. If you have a home with few to no stairs, like a ranch house, that would be best for me. Townhouses and apartments with more than one or two steps would be really hard for me to go in and out for potty breaks every day. And because I drink so much, I need to go out once every few hours.

    Now let's address the elephant in the room, yes I'm a senior...almost 14ish yrs young, and yes I have some medical issues like my severly arthritic back end. Probably the most unique thing about me are my lumps and bumps that have shown up over the years. The doctor looked at them and said they are just lipoma's (fatty tissue under the skin) and I have nothing to worry about. I do have cataracts in both eyes and can see ok for the most part if you're right in front of me, but I can't see so well if you come at me from the side. I never got spayed, but apparently I've already been through menopaws (see what I did there? gosh I crack myself up) so I don't go into heat anymore, kinda like my foster mom. (oh wow, am I not a regular laugh riot?) 

    Well there you have it, I hope you won't think my bumps or other issues make me unadoptable because my foster family tells me everyday that I'm beautiful and although I can be shy at times, I'm starting to believe them. So don't count out this old gal. I still have a lot of love to give.

    Please review our adoption process, if interested Donations can be made at or on PayPal to

    Return to Search Form